Professor Carlos Diéguez has been awarded with the 2015 Geoffrey Harris prize by the European Society of Endocrinology

The Professor of Physiology and Director of the Centre for Research in Molecular Medicine and Chronic Diseases (CIMUS), Carlos Diéguez, has recently been awarded the 2015 Geoffrey Harris prize by the European Society of Endocrinology. The award is aimed at renowned researchers in the field of Neuroendocrinology and it is considered the first of its kind in Europe.

Since the year 2000, researchers from Australia, United Kingdom, Italy, Sweden, France, Greece, Holland and Hungary have been awarded this prize. The recognition of the work carried out by the Professor Diéguez is the second awarded to a USC researcher. In 2006 Felipe Casanueva also received this prize, which highlights the level of research in Endocrinology and Nutrition at the USC.

The award takes its name after the University of Oxford Professor, one of the pioneers in the study of Endocrinology. The award ceremony will be held in 2015 during the European Congress of Endocrinology, where Professor Diéguez will deliver the inaugural lecture, as well as other two interventions in scientific meetings at the European Society of Endocrinology.

Carlos Diéguez
Carlos Diéguez has published more than 400 papers in international journals of high impact, with H index of 84, in addition to supervising 29 PhD theses and participated as Principal Investigator in national and international projects. In addition to his teaching and research, he has held several positions related to scientific management as President of the Spanish Society of Endocrinology and Nutrition, Director of the Institute for Health Research of Santiago, Manager of the National Programme of Research and evaluation coordinator of ISCII projects.

Currently, he is also a member of the Scientific Committee of the European Research Program “Healthy diet for a healthy life” and external advisor for several institutions such as the Institutes of Health Research of Vall d Hebron, Málaga, Córdoba and Navarra.

Comments are closed.